Remove this ad

Lead

May 10 17 5:52 PM

Tags : :

Has any thought been given to giving large units 3 hits instead of 2? I'm specifically thinking of the 'double' sized first cohort of the Imperial Roman legions.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

May 11 17 11:42 AM

If the cohort deployed in the same fashion, and to the same depth, as standard cohorts, I assume it would have double the frontage? If so, I think it would be better to represent it as two, 2 hit, units.

Mollinary

Quote    Reply   

#3 [url]

May 12 17 7:05 AM

Hi Steve,

I think it is deep units which currently have 3 hits in the rules, at least I could not find a reference to large units. As I understand it (!) a Roman double cohort would not form any deeper than a standard one, but just occupy a longer frontage, hence my suggestion. What I have no knowledge of is whether it fought as a single unt, or as 2 separate 'battalia' to use a later term.

Quote    Reply   

#4 [url]

May 12 17 8:01 PM

As far as I can tell it fought as a single unit and was almost invariably veteran but I think you're right, it probably fought in the same (10 deep (?)) formation as all of the other cohorts which doesn't fit particularly well if we count each unit as a cohort but in practice probably doesn't affect game play...

That said I might still be tempted to give it three hits but without the other 'deep' rules othewise it would fight split into two units which doesn't sit right with me.

Quote    Reply   

#5 [url]

May 13 17 6:44 AM